My Favorite Holiday

Even though Autumn is my favorite season I’m not much of a Halloween person. I don’t do scary– I even start avoiding Walmart around this time because I don’t like the scary masks and decorations in their seasonal department. I do like dressing up for a party with friends and handing out candy to cute princesses, pirates and ghosts though. It’s just not my favorite holiday. I pretty much decorate for Fall and Thanksgiving and carve jack-o-lanterns with friends.

So what is my favorite holiday? CHRISTMAS!!!!!!!

I pretty much love everything about Christmas.

I don’t get stressed over gift giving because I give something heartfelt and that is what matters, not price tags or status. I usually start shopping pretty early because I start seeing things on sale my family and friends would love. I do love receiving presents but I always love giving them more!

I love hearing the cheerful carols everywhere and i LOVE decorating the tree and putting out my Nativity set. I love the cooler weather and praying that snow actually falls on Christmas (rare at my parents home in Oregon).

The smell of a fresh cut tree and the glittery lights I can hang everywhere and I always try to start decorating just before Thanksgiving but my hubby always stops me.

I usually hold out on taking my tree down a week or so longer than socially acceptable. 😉

And most of all I love the reminder of baby Jesus. How God Almighty put aside His power and place in heaven to come down to us as a weak and humble baby just so He could grow up, experience all the life and temptations we do, and then die in our place on that cross. Christmas is a reminder that Love came down to save us.

I’ll be making this canvas for my Christmas decor this year. SOURCE.

A few years ago I did a 12 Days of Christmas Series, check it out 🙂

Here are some of my Christmas Home Tours! Our Tree last year. And our tiny first apartment dressed up for the holidays. And our first Christmas as a married couple we had such a Charlie Brown tree!

When our live tree died too soon in 2012 I decorated this branch for our table and left it out for most of January because I just can't let go of the Christmas spirit ;)
When our live tree died too soon in 2012 I decorated this branch for our table and left it out for most of January because I just can’t let go of the Christmas spirit 😉

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Holiday

Leave a comment