Christmas in Texas

Christmas is my favorite time of year! I love the lights, the music, decorating, baking and buying/making gifts for those I love.

IMG_5617

This is our tree, our first fake tree. But here in Texas real Christmas trees are too expensive so I went and found this 6 footer at the Goodwill for $15 and it’ll be great for the few years we are here. I do miss going and cutting down a tree- it was such a fun event whether we were trekking through the woods at my parents house or joining other families at a Christmas tree farm.

I decorate with red and white/silver and greenery. The newest additions to my tree are the red felt balls I bought on mega clearance at Targets after Christmas last year, the star topper I got with a coupon this year and the garland I made recently out of paper straws and jingle bells. The brown stars you see are Cinnamon ornaments I made last year. I also have cinnamon ornaments that survived my childhood and my mom gifted me. They make our fake tree smell wonderful and the bells alert me to when the kitten tries to climb the tree.

One of my favorite traditions at Christmas time is advent. Every Sunday leading up to the 25th we light a candle at church and talk about Jesus’ coming. Growing up my mom took this to a new level and for the 25 days of December we would get a verse and a little gift in our stocking or under the tree. Most often the gifts were a Hersey’s kiss or something we needed like Shampoo but it was always fun and exciting to wake up to. This year I did my own version for Jeff. Each day I’ve put a note and or a little gift in a bag that have to do with an activity to do together. It’s been a nice way for me to encourage him each morning before he heads off to class and gives us both something to look forward to each night.

So far we’ve watched Elf, went to a Christmas event down on campus, decorated the tree together, I’ve given him warm cozy socks, a cookie cutter and tonight we are baking cookies (chocolate chip and gingerbread). This has been a great, inexpensive way to enjoy the Christmas season together! I’ll update you on some more ideas later in the month but I don’t want to give away all my ideas since he reads my blog occasionally (HI Honey! I love you!)

One thought on “Christmas in Texas

Leave a Reply

