When Oceans Rise

IMG_5619
One of my favorite places to go is the ocean. It is so calming to my soul. This morning I joined some of my family for a walk along the Florida shore and I saw the sunrise over the ocean for the first time.

IMG_5562
Our family gathered here in Florida to mourn our cousin Garth Sangree. A week ago he went on an ocean kayaking outing and never returned. The Coast Guard, Navy and local authorities searched for days but nothing was found. A memorial was held at his college last weekend and 500+ kids attended and at least 3 accepted the Lord as their savior. Tomorrow there is a memorial celebration at their church, if you would like to join us it will be live streamed here.

IMG_5622
My heart and mind have been heavy with sadness. How and why does a 22 year old man have to die? It’s confusing and it hurts to watch those I love deal with this loss. I don’t have those answers. But I do see the testimony of this family. Not one has blamed God. All have run to God for love, for comfort and for answers, answers they know they may never get in this life.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Garth was a light. One of those people who was just vibrant with life and love and joy. He was this way because of his relationship with his savior, Jesus Christ. His hope was in Him and that brings us, his family and friends, so much comfort- we will be reunited.

IMG_5537

2 In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. 3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. 4 You know the way to the place where I am going.” 5Thomas said to Him, “Lord, we do not know where You are going, how do we know the way?” 6Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.” John 14:2-4

IMG_5615
Come, don’t wait! Put your trust in the Lord Jesus and receive His grace, peace, and assurance of heaven. He is waiting, come.

This is my favorite praise song and has been playing in my head and has brought me comfort during this stormy time- Oceans by Hillsong United

IMG_5623

One thought on “When Oceans Rise

Leave a Reply

