Book Banners

Its kinda silly how often this English major and Library staffer rips apart books.

In our first apartment I made a headboard out of book pages and modge-podged everything with them too.

Christmas Decorating Crafting

In our Texas apartment I wallpapered an entire wall with an old falling-apart copy of the Hobbit and made a wreath out of dictionary pages.

That book page wall took FOREVER to do! I stuck each page individually to the wall with Sticky Tack. When we moved I let one of my nanny kids rip it all down from the wall and make a big mess- it was so fun!
That book page wall took FOREVER to do! I stuck each page individually to the wall with Sticky Tack. When we moved I let one of my nanny kids rip it all down from the wall and make a big mess- it was so fun!

2014_12_20_10_23 (13)This weekend I’m helping my MIL and SIL host a baby shower for two of our Aunts. Of course it would be Storybook themed and of course I am ripping apart some books for cheap fun decor!

I went to the thrift store yesterday and bought two children’s classics for a $1, and I really don’t feel back about tearing and cutting them apart because of the price and they’ve already been scribbled in with crayon (Which just adds to the cuteness of this project I think).

IMG_0070

Isn’t it cute! I can’t wait to show you pictures of the shower! All the decor has to be easy and simple because the shower is being held on the family’s getaway. We are all renting out a house in a fun location and carpooling so there wont be much space to pack decor or time to set up- we have to be extra creative! Here’s how I made them:

Baby Shower Book Banner

Supplies:

  • Children’s book with cute pictures that you don’t mind cutting up
  • scissors or a paper cutter
  • pencil
  • ruler
  • hole punch
  • twine, yarn or ribbon

IMG_0055

How To:

  1. Take off the book cover. I know it’s painful to deface that book, but just do it quick like a bandaid. Leave the rest of the book bound together!
  2. Use your ruler and pencil to create a banner template. I decided to do a more rectangular banner (though I love the triangle ones more) to save as much of the pictures as possible. IMG_0057
  3. Trace your pattern on to the bound pages and cut! If your book is too thick to do all the pages at once split it into smaller sections. IMG_0061
  4. Remove the staple, or cut off the glued binding so that you have individual banner shapes. IMG_0062
  5. Use your hole punch to put 2 holes at the top of each banner shape.
  6. String your shapes together on ribbon or twine! If you don’t want them to slide too much use a little tape on the back to secure them to the twine. IMG_0075
  7. Hang and enjoy!

IMG_0071

I thought about adding words to my banner, like “Once upon a time” or something but I didn’t want to cover up the sweet pictures! I’ll have to see if I can take one of my chalkboards with me…

2 thoughts on “Book Banners

Leave a Reply

