DIY Laundry Soap, Year Review

A year ago I decided to save a little money by making my own laundry soap. I have gotten many questions  about how I liked it, so I thought I’d give you an update.

Grating the soap. I mixed all the ingredients together in a trash can because I wanted to make full batch.

I filled a large glass container (a two gallon Heritage Hill jar from Walmart), and a year later I still have a third of the batch left! We are a family of two and we probably do 3-4 loads of laundry a week and I haven’t had to buy any laundry detergent this year! I use to buy at least three big bottles of Liquid Laundry Detergent every year, and for about the price of one bottle I can wash clothes with my homemade powder for about 16 months. For our family that’s about 250 loads!

IMG_5557
How full the jar was when I first made it. Today the level is about a half inch below the lace.

I’ve never had an issue with it cleaning our clothes. Only once did I have an issue with it dissolving- but it was with the pieces of Zote soap in the recipe that I had microwaved, the grated Zote soap has always dissolved just fine. I also like how it smells. You don’t have to use the Downy Unstopables fabric softener, but I did because I like how it smells.IMG_5560

If you have any questions comment below! And for this amazing recipe, CLICK HERE!

 

My tiny laundry room!
My tiny laundry room! See more about it HERE.
4 thoughts on “DIY Laundry Soap, Year Review

Leave a Reply

