My Ultimate Fear

'These true or false questions...do you want the real truth or the truth according to social media.'It’s easy to hide behind the mold-able veneer of social media, putting out only what is good and happy, only snap shots of what life is really like. It’s easy to hide our weaknesses and fears from a world who can only see what we give them.

So today I’m opening up about some fears of mine because there is more to life than the Instagram pictures of my cat or the Facebook posts about nanny kids.

I have “silly fears,” like I really really don’t like needles. I gave blood once to try to get over it…that was three years ago and, even though I have a rarer blood type and want to help, I haven’t gone back because of the big needle they have to use. I also don’t like big spiders and being alone at night.

But those fears pale in comparison to this one,

I fear being separated from my family.

I live in Texas, 2,000+ miles away from my loved ones, but that isn’t what I’m talking about. Thanks to Skype and airplanes I still get to see them. For the most part I’m not even talking about death. Death is only a temporary separation, if you are a believer.

I’m talking about the members of my family who do not believe, who when they die won’t be in heaven because they rejected Jesus Christ in life.

See, whether you accept it or not, the truth is there is only one God and He is perfectly good, loving and just. His perfect Justice means we sinful humans cannot be in His Holy presence. But because of His perfect Love and Grace He made a way for us to be forgiven.

“…for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” (Romans 3:23)

“..dealing out retribution to those who do not know God and to those who do not obey the gospel of our Lord Jesus. These will pay the penalty of eternal destruction, away from the presence of the Lord and from the glory of His power…” (2 Thessalonians 1:8-9)

“Surely, God will not act wickedly, And the Almighty will not pervert justice.” (Job 34:12)

“Therefore the LORD longs to be gracious to you, And therefore He waits on high to have compassion on you For the LORD is a God of justice; How blessed are all those who long for Him.” (Isaiah 30:18)

“For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 6:23)

” But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.  Much more then, having now been justified by His blood, we shall be saved from the wrath of God through Him.” (Romans 5:8-9)

For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, so that no one may boast.” (Ephesians 2:8-9)

*emphasis added

I pray everyday for my unbelieving family. My heart aches for them to know this truth and freedom and hope I have found in Christ! But until my prayer is answered I will have to continue to love them, share the truth with them through words and actions, and trust that God does want them to be saved- He loves them even more than me!

 

If you have questions about Jesus and the verse above, please feel free to comment or personal message me via my Facebook page.

 

 

3 thoughts on “My Ultimate Fear

  1. Well-put, Becca. How true, and we realize life WILL come to an end here one day. We do pray our (and your) loved ones will come to embrace our Lord before it’s too late. God BLESS you and Jeff! We LOVE you!

Leave a Reply

