20 in 2014

I set a goal/resolution to read at least 20 books in 2014 and I’m doing pretty well, only 4 to go.

I haven’t stuck to one genre, or author, I just go to my shelves and grab whatever looks good at that moment. When we moved to Texas I marked all the books that I hadn’t read yet before I put them in to moving boxes. It makes it  super easy, just look for the green sticky note. Oh, and we have a lot of books. It’s dangerous to set me loose in a bookstore or even a thrift store because I’ll leave with an armful even though I still have 40 left at home I haven’t read yet.

Anyway, here are the 16 books I’ve read so far this year! Hopefully you see one that you haven’t read and find interesting!

  1. The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Vol. 1. –Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
    1. I love everything Sherlock so of course I had to go read the books! It is really fun seeing where the TV series got their inspiration from in the stories. Oh, and the stories themselves are worth the read apart from any movies or shows.
  2. Their Eyes were Watching God. –Zora Neale Hurston
    1. This is a new favorite. The story is told from the lips of a middle aged black women retelling her life of trying to find herself and all the love and loss along the way.
  3. A Thousand Splendid Suns. –Khaled Hosseini

    1. Another favorite. I loved The Kite Runner, but this story follows the life of a Afghan girl as she grows up in modern day Afghanistan and, being a woman, it’s neat to read about middle eastern life from the view point of a woman (even though it’s written by a male author.)
  4. The Red Badge of Courage. –Stephen Crane
    1. American classic. Worth reading at least once.
  5. Water for Elephants. –Sara Gruen
    1. Fun and intense easy read set in the circus during the Depression. 
  6. The Egg and I. –Bettey MacDonald
    1. Comical and interesting autobiography of her time building a Chicken farm with her husband and small children. LOVE this book!
  7. Eat, Pray, Love. –Elizabeth Gilbert
    1. My bestie’s favorite book. I enjoyed her honesty and food descriptions, but it is sad to me that she was searching for spiritual truth and never found Jesus.
  8. Tender at the Bone. –Ruth Reichl
    1. Delicious autobiography about her life growing up. Ruth Reichl was the New York Times Restaurant Reviewer and her autobiography for that time period, Garlic and Sapphires, is also one of my favorites. 
  9. The Help. Kathryn Stockett
    1. Seriously, if you haven’t seen the movie or read the book you need to do both. These are GREAT. 
  10. My Antonia.Willa Cather
    1. Good. 
  11. O Pioneers!Willa Cather
    1. Great! Definitely a new favorite. In both of these last two books she captures life on the American prairie beautifully! 
  12. Life among the Savages, Raising Demons. –Shirley Jackson
    1. This is a autobiography about raising her four children in a small town. 
  13. Mary Poppins. –P.L. Travers
    1. Fun easy read! 
  14. Charlotte Collins: a Continuation of Pride and Prejudice. –Jennifer Becton
    1. I love all things Pride and Prejudice so it was a fun pick for me. If you also can’t get enough of Jane Austen themed stuff, this is a well written continuation! 
  15. The Handmaid’s Tale. –Margaret Atwood
    1. guh, this one was a thinker. I mean, the theme in this one gets you thinking. Set in the future, society has reverted to Puritanical ideals, and due to the quickly dropping populations, high ranking families with no children get a government issued handmaid to try to up the population. Well written and it gets you thinking. 
  16. Pride and Prejudice. –Jane Austen
    1. My favorite book of all time. I’ve read it a million times but still had to read it again. 

 

Not really sure what I’m going to read next. I’ve been a little two busy training at my new jobs to read much. But now that things are falling into routine at the library I’m going to start reading there more. So maybe I can beat my 20 book goal!

 

<– read yesterday’s 31 Day’s Post: Lovely Rainy Day at the Library

2014_10_ 1_12_ 1

 

 

3 thoughts on “20 in 2014

  1. Now you’ve made me want to tally up what I’ve read this year… though i know it’s no where near 20! Most of my stuff has been business or bible related so it would be nice to add some fiction. I am slightly obsessed with The Thin Man movies and have been wanting to check out the book they were based on by Dashiel Hamment for a long time… ok off to the library…! Hope you are having a marvelous Monday!

Leave a Reply

