I’m sitting here wanting to blog about fall and decorating and my latest crafts but it all just seems so frivolous right now.

The last few days have been scary, stressful, and full of prayer. In the aftermath of the storm my family is hurt, sad and wanting answers where there just aren’t any, yet anyway.

The biggest question in my heart right now is how do you love when the love isn’t accepted? When the object of your love rejects you, even runs from you?

And then I wonder, with awe and thankfulness, how and why did God ever love me? I’ve run from Him, rejected His love, pushed at His protective boundaries.

So in all my wonder I turned to The Source of Truth, God’s Word, and I found reassurance and hope. (NASB,emphasis added)

…but we exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.

For while we were still helpless, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. For one will hardly die for a righteous man; though perhaps for the good man someone might dare even to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. -Romans 5:3-8

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ, just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we would be holy and blameless before Him. In loveHe predestined us to adoption as sons through Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the kind intention of His will, to the praise of the glory of His grace, which He freely bestowed on us in the Beloved. In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of His grace which He has lavished on us. -Ephesians 1:3-8

The good news is that God’s love didn’t depend on my goodness. He loved me before I was born, even knowing all the crud I’d do, and He chose me to be His daughter. I didn’t in any way shape or form deserve His love. I did not and do not deserve Christ dying in my place or the gift of life and heaven. It was and is all Him.

That’s grace, getting good that we don’t deserve. And God gave us the Greatest Good, Himself. Why? Because He is Good, He is love, He is Grace; this Good Gift brings Him more glory. God provided Christ as THE way to receive forgiveness because we couldn’t earn it on our own.

And guys, it’s free. Forgiveness, salvation, new life, it’s free. 

All you have to do is accept the gift; accept that you can’t do it on your own and that you need Christ to save and guide you. You have to receive/accept a gift to use it or reap the benefits of it. (For instance you can’t cash in on a birthday gift card if you say “no thanks” and send it back to the giver.)

That’s how we ( I ) have to love: freely with grace, giving our everything even when the object of our love shuns us and wont receive our love. Even when we don’t accept The Gift, God never gives up. He is always right there waiting, offering, loving.

3 thoughts on “

  1. Oh, Becca, you are so right. Thank you for speaking out this marvelous truth that we(I) so often put aside. May God prompt us to stay close to Him always.

  2. Loving lopsided is no fun but you’re right that it’s what we’re called to do because that’s how Christ loves us. Prayers for whatever situations you all are facing my dear!

Leave a Reply

