Beautify the Everyday

20130724-002315.jpgThis world is already so beautiful but it’s hard to see sometimes when WE get in the way.

Rushing, selfishness, stress, etc. turn our focus inward and we don’t see all the beauty around us.

Jeff and I have been going through a season of stress and worry this summer which has often made me forget to see the beauty and blessings around me. The Lordhas been taking care of us and reminding me to see all His beauty in the simple things;

Like the laughter of my nanny babies, fresh flowers on the table, blue sky, a car to drive and a place to live, waking up next to a man I can trust and walk through life with, handwritten letters waiting in my mailbox, and my kitten snoring at my feet.

This is what my living room looks like today. It's messy, lived in, and not perfect. But it's cozy, safe, it's home and that's beautiful.
This is what my living room looks like today. It’s messy, lived in, and not perfect. But it’s cozy, safe, it’s home and that’s beautiful.

I’ve also been learning that when worry distracts me that’s when it’s most important to beautify the everyday: Inviting a friend over to do nails and bake cookies; adding some mint leaves to my water glass; cleaning up the kitchen and making sure the bed is made brings just a little more peace to our hectic life; putting on a nice dress for church and then wearing it for the rest of the day (instead of instantly changing into sweats) just because my husband likes the way I look; going for leisurely bike rides at the end of the day just to enjoy the cooler Texas heat.

10532802_786593088064918_2721467030503580197_n

Another thing I’ve been learning is that it helps to turn my focus outward when I’m worried instead of retreating inward. Blessing and loving on others, even in small ways, brings a little joy and reassurance to my mind: writing letters to friends, allowing someone to cut in line, really listening when someone is talking to me, smiling at passersby.

What will YOU DO TODAY to make Life More Beautiful?

So it's been a while

Leave a Reply

