Curtains- Help me decide!

This is my new living room set up complete with new curtains (the pretty blue curtains have moved to the office).

I wanted to hang the curtains as high and wide as possible to make the window feel bigger. Drop cloths and IKEA curtain rod and accesories were the cheapest option I could find. I bought two 6’x9′ drop clothes for a total of $16 at Big Lots and bought the curtain rod and rings at IKEA for about $12. IMG_7066

Unfortunately the drop cloths smelled funny, so I washed them and they shrunk BIG TIME. They should pool about a foot of fabric on the ground and now one is shorter than the other. This is what my artist mother calls a “happy accident” because it encourages creativity. So now I am going to add 3 large white ruffles at the bottom of each curtain, this picture will give you an idea of what I’m thinking:

source

But I have another problem I haven’t decided how to fix yet: the white space above the window  is driving me crazy!

IMG_7066

Idea #1, add a sunburst mirror sort of like this picture but with a mirror:

source
source

Idea #2, make some sort of cornice. Here are the two fabric options I have right now, tan ticking or gray chevron:

So what do you think I should do? Please chime in!

2 thoughts on “Curtains- Help me decide!

Leave a Reply

