No Shampoo or Conditioner for Me

My husband is starting to call me a hippie. I don’t think I really and completely fit that definition but okay. 🙂

Maybe you think so too with all my homemade, money saving posts about laundry detergent and now I’m throwing this at you-

I’m not using shampoo this month.

Here’s what’s been going on. As the weather here in Texas has been getting hotter and the humidity is higher than anywhere I’ve lived before my poor hair has been getting dry, rougher and I’ve been loosing more in the shower than before. I knew it was time for better shampoo than the cheap stuff I’ve been buying, but the natural good stuff I want is WAY out of our budget.

Then I found this article about a lady who has been washing her hair with baking soda for years.

Source: theartofsimple.net

Cheap. Natural. Healthy.

So I’ve decided to give it a trial run this month. Like anything, it takes time to adjust and see real results. I’m only in my first week but so far I like it. 

Here’s what I’m doing:

Hair Wash: 1 Tbs of Baking Soda per 8oz of water

Hair rinse: 1 Tbs of Apple Cider Vinegar per 8oz of water.

I put each mixture in a spray bottle and apply in the shower just as I would shampoo and conditioner.

My hair feels clean and so far it has gotten greasy at a much slower rate than before. It does not smell like vinegar; the vinegar completely rinses out. My hair doesn’t smell like anything because there are no chemicals to make it smell. If this works out, like I hope it does, I’ll be buying some essential oils to add to make my hair smell nice.

I’ll keep you updated on how it goes!

If you like more frequent updates on my hair, decorating and DIY endeavors, (and cat and kiddos) you can follow me on Instagram, Twitter, and Tumbler!

Leave a Reply

