Dirty Laundry

This project has been on my To-Do list for years. No joke. Most of my t-shirts have deodorant stains, eww.IMG_6617

So I finally went through my closet and pulled out every shirt that needed armpit help. Total: 26. That’s most of my wardrobe! (since I’m a nanny I mostly wear old college t-shirts)IMG_6618

I did some online research (*read Pinterest and blogs*) and here is what I came up with using things I already had in the pantry:

What you need:

  • Vinegar
  • baking soda
  • old toothbrush
  • liquid laundry soap
  • patience

How To:

  1. Pour your vinegar into a small container (made it easier for me) and lay out your shirt.IMG_6614
  2. Sprinkle the stain with baking soda2014_ 4_14_15_32 (1)
  3. get your old toothbrush wet with vinegar and scrub away at the stain. The vinegar and baking soda will make some lovely fizz-this is what helps loosen the stain.2014_ 4_14_15_32 (2)
  4. I scrubbed until the fizzing stopped and then threw the shirt into on to the pile as I worked on the next one- allowing the vinegar to sit for awhile on the stain.
  5. Once all the stains have been scrubbed, go back and scrub the armpit stains with a toothbrush dipped in liquid laundry detergent.IMG_6619
  6. Then throw all the shirts in the washer and let them soak for a half hour. Then run a cycle as normal, but you won’t need to add anymore detergent.

I was able to get most of the stains out! I think some of my shirts are too old to save unfortunately (like the blue one pictured.) So I’m going to cut the sleeves off and use it as a running tank until it falls apart. Waste not!IMG_6666

 

Leave a Reply

