Favorite Things

I’m feeling icky today. Sore throat and sore body. Maybe if the dog bit you, or you’re just feeling bad, some of my favorite things will cheer you up too.

  • Clean sheets. Soft, cozy, clean sheets.
  • Rain on the roof.
  • Steaming coffee in your cold hands and belly.

    source
  • Fresh flowers on the table.
  • Purring cat rubbing up against your leg.
  • A hug and forehead kiss.
  • A child lighting up when you walk in the door.
  • New pens and a new journal.
  • Early morning bird songs.

    source
  • My dad’s laugh.
  • long phone calls with my bestie.
  • Getting the mail, especially when there’s a magazine or letter waiting.
  • Flying. I love that take off feeling.
  • Long car rides with the windows down, sunglasses on, and radio turned up loud.
  • Hole-in-the-wall bookstores.

    source
  • The way my mom strokes my face.
  • How my house smells when I’m baking.
  • Bubble bath with candles and acoustic music.
  • The tremble in my legs after a good run.
  • newly painted nails.
  • The smell of the Oregon forest after rainfall.

    source

One thought on “Favorite Things

Leave a comment