Food: My Unhealthy Idolization of A Necessity

Food. We love food. We gather around it. We use it to celebrate. We make up reasons to celebrate so that we can have more of it.

Food is a necessity and in itself it is a good thing. We need food to live!

My Problem:

But for me food has become a problem. I’m not anorexic, or bulimic, I don’t binge or anything like that. My problem is pretty typical, too much of the wrong foods. Big portions, too much fried and sweet, and not enough exercise.

I don’t think I’m fat, but the extra weight I gained after getting married does effect my confidence and I know I’m not healthy. I’ve tried various diets, tried to be disciplined with food and exercise, but I’ve always gained the weight back.

The big problem is that this is a deeper problem. Food is my idol.

“Expecting anything outside the will of God to satisfy us is idolatry…Idolatry, in the case of food, means the consumption of ill-sized portions and unhealthy choices because we feel like we deserve it or need it to feel better.” *

My Heart:

I’m still growing, and my heart and mind are slowing changing and moving toward God and how He sees me, who He is making me. I want to honor Him with my body (it is His temple- 1 Cor. 6:19) by taking care of it, which means moving more and putting good stuff in it.

I am still at the point where it is far too easy to slip back into thinking that these small victories are done on my own strength and too often I vainly imagine myself with a six pack. I know it will be good and exciting to reach my goal weight but I am becoming more excited about the change in my heart- at the end I want to be more excited about being obedient to God then about my waist line. This body will get old, and it will eventually die, but my relationship with the The Lord is eternal and I want to serve Him because I love Him and I am amazed at how much He loves me.

My Goals:

Health isn’t just a physical thing. It is emotional and spiritual too. My goals for this journey and this year (I like goals more than “resolutions,” when I break a resolution I give up, but a goal is a thing to work toward.) encompass all three areas:

1) Goal weight: 150lbs. Eat better (more fruits and veggies, smaller portions, less fried and sweets), move more, I want to be able to run a 5k again.

2) Go to bed earlier. I’m one of those people who needs 9 hours to feel 100%, I do okay on 7 hours but not for long. I get grumpy and emotional and can’t think straight.

3) “Hangout” with God everyday.  I love God. I’m so amazed by His love for me and I want to know Him better. I can see a difference in my emotions and self control when I’m regularly spending time with Him and allowing Him to work in me. I want to be more like Him, like Christ.

What I’m doing:

I’m going through the Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Study on the book Made to Crave.

My husband and I have some of the same goals and we are keeping each other accountable.

No soda for 2014 (to be healthy and work on my self control)

I’m using the MyFitnessPal app to log my food and exercise. I normally don’t like this type of app and give it up within days, but this one is nice because you can set it up so that your friends can keep you accountable and “like” your progress.

This month I’m doing a 30 Day Abs/Squats/Arms challenge to build muscle and discipline. I printed out this page and put it on my fridge and when I complete a workout I get a sticker. (stickers can be huge motivators for adults as well as kids!)

I’m a nanny and so I’m getting more active when I’m with the kids, going for walks, pushing the stroller, chasing them around with a ball. Finding everyday ways to add more movement.

Day 21, here’s my progress:

I started the month out a 168.5 ( and though weight isn’t the best indicator of health it can help track progress!) and I haven’t lost anything yet. (Correction: I weight 164.5!! Yay for some progress! I apparently can’t put scale on the bathroom mat… Lol) I weigh myself once a week because if I did it every day I would get discouraged very easily. Body weight fluctuates during the day and throughout the week.

I’ve had small victories, like saying no to a free Starbucks latte and passing up fudge. It helps to have a plan that allows me to plan for the occasional treats and tracking my calories publicly keeps me honest!

I hope my journey is inspiring to you, if anything it is good for me to be putting my self out there with this. I wasn’t making progress and took every excuse to backtrack when my struggle was a secret. Now that my family, friends and accountability partner know and I’m admitting the sin issue and depending on God , i’m on my way to victory!

*Lysa Terkurst, Made to Crave, pg 159

20140128-085130.jpg

8 thoughts on “Food: My Unhealthy Idolization of A Necessity

  1. Becca, I love this post, and I am so proud of you for submitting to the Holy Spirit when He’s teaching you these truths. Praising God with you that He accomplishes in us what He promises. His word does not return void, but gives LIFE! 🙂 Love you! Let me know if there’s anything I can do to help you!

    Becky

  2. I really appreciate this post and feel like this is one of my struggles as well. Jan 27th (yesterday I guess) is when I’ve committed myself to working on this area of my life again and I hope that we can both be encouraged and spurred on by the Holy Spirit and God’s Word as we continue to pursue His glory in these pursuits. The best is yet to come!

  3. Reblogged this on Making Life Beautiful and commented:

    I wrote this post back in January and it is a problem I’m still dealing with. I’ll be honest, I have not kept up consistently with the goals I set for myself in this post- I am still a work in progress! Praise God, He is not done with me yet!

  4. Girl you are on the right track– it’s such a mind issue and requires a change of old thought patterns. I have no doubt you can accomplish it by letting God work in you to renew your mind and body! Healthy is the goal- no matter what the number on the scale. High five on the no soda thing- that was the best thing I ever did a few years ago. Small changes add up so keep on keeping on girlie!

  5. Girl you are on the right track– it’s such a mind issue and requires a change of old thought patterns. I have no doubt you can accomplish it by letting God work in you to renew your mind and body! Healthy is the goal- no matter what the number on the scale. High five on the no soda thing- that was the best thing I ever did a few years ago. Small changes add up so keep on keeping on girlie!

Leave a Reply

