Homemade Laundry Soap

I love homemade things, especially when they are pretty and useful and save me money!

IMG_5557

I found this “recipe” for laundry soap on howdoesshe.com and after using it for a month I still love it! You can even print off the recipe from her site. She answers all sorts of questions too so head over there if you want more than the recipe!

BLISSFUL 55‘s HOMEMADE LAUNDRY DETERGENT RECIPE

Ingredients:

1 (4 lb 12 oz) Box of Borax– Found in the detergent aisle

1 (3 lb 7 oz) Box of Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda– Found in the detergent aisle

1 (3 lb) Container of OxyClean– Found in the detergent aisle. (This is optional but I highly recommend adding it)

2 (14.1 oz) Bars of Zote Soap– Found in the detergent aisle (we chose to do pink for the scent but the white would be just fine. You can also use Fels Naptha)

1 (4 lb) Box of Arm & Hammer Baking Soda– Found in the cooking aisle (You could also get two 2 lb box, we couldn’t find the larger 4lb box when we went)

1-2 (55 oz) Bottle of Purex Crystals Fabric Softener– Found in the detergent aisle OR 2 bottles of Downy Unstopables (which is what I used).

I grated the Zote Soap right into my plastic lined trash can and wore gloves because that stuff was surprisingly messy.

Directions

1. Grate zote soap with cheese grater or food processor. She suggested microwaving the zote soap but honestly, after trying it both ways, I found that grating it was easier and it dispersed through the mixture better.

2. Mix all ingredients together in a large bucket or trash can. Pour ingredients in layers (say a 1/3 of each ingredient at at time) for easier mixing. I wore plastic gloves so my hands wouldn’t dry out and hand-mixed it.

3.Use 2 -4 Tablespoons per laundry load.

IMG_5560

I poured my soap into a pretty glass container I found at Walmart in the kitchen section for $10. The two gallon jar holds this whole recipe and it should last at least a year for a family of 4. I’ve been using this for about a month now, doing 2-3 loads a week, throwing in two tablespoon a load and I’ve barely made a dent in it!

I also used a scrap of lace and a blackboard label from Target’s dollar bins to make it pretty! It’s more fun to do laundry with pretty things!

IMG_5555
IMG_5564
IMG_5559

3 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Soap

Leave a Reply

