Encouragement (Bonus Oct. Post)

Do you ever have those days when you really needed encouragement and didn’t know it? I had one of those those today.
Life has been good, we have been continually blessed by God and there really isn’t anything worth complaining about. But stress sneaks up on you and hides in the mundane everyday until someone says just the right thing to encourage you; then the burden is recognized and we are able to let go of it.
By nature I am an encouraging person. I like to make people smile, compliment them, and recognize where they need someone to lift them up. Rarely do I realize that i need it too!
Today I went to lunch with some girls from our small group who also go to Baylor’s Law School and at one point one of them turned to me and offered some encouraging words about how I was doing a really good job being a wife and support to Jeff as he goes through law school. She had no idea I needed to hear that. Ha, I didn’t even know I needed to hear it!
But later, after lunch, I thought about it more and realized all the pressure I was putting on myself. They are all good things, like keeping the house clean, making some money and trying to do something special for him everyday to encourage him, but I am putting so much pressure on myself that when I forget to make dinner, or the sink overflows with dishes, or the house is messy after the kids leave I feel like I’ve failed.
The only thing I’ve failed at is reaching the high expectations I’ve set on myself. I have to remember the good things I have done for him, and while I continue to try to get better and become more disciplined person, I really need to give myself a break! Sometimes it takes someone on the outside looking in to remind you your doing great!
So, my friend, if you read this, thank you so much for encouraging me.

20131004-144754.jpg

20131004-144804.jpg

20131004-144811.jpg

20131004-144817.jpg

3 thoughts on “Encouragement (Bonus Oct. Post)

  1. I have felt the same way! Working full time makes it more difficult to stay on top of the household chores. I try to clean up the kitchen every night so it’s not a wreck on the weekends, but there are some weeks that are much more crazy than others, and I end up just going to sleep. I’ve asked Caleb a couple times if I was doing enough for him; if I was helping him study enough, etc… and he was very encouraging to me at that point. But I still have moments of doubt, of course. Since we are going through the same adventure right now, we should be long distance encouragement buddies ๐Ÿ™‚ hehe

  2. And…. thank you for encouraging me too! I see myself written all over your post. I fall so short of my expectations, just like you mentioned. Thank you for being transparent and real. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

