I’m Still Learning About Love

I’ve probably read this verse a hundred times and yet this morning I still learned something new!

I’ve been using a daily reading/video plan from John Piper on popular verses (you can do them through your smart phone or online!) and each morning I find myself surprised by the newness of these verses I’ve read so many times. Here’s what I learned today:

Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, does not act unbecomingly; it does not take into account wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; bears all things, believes all things, endures all things. Love never fails…

1 Corinthians 13:4-8a

Where does love actually come from? I know that on my own I am not capable of this kind of love. 1 John 4:8 says that God is Love and Galatians 5:5-6 talks about faith working through love and living by the Spirit through faith.

This amazing love comes from God, through our faith in Him and living by the Spirit. Remember the Fruits of the Spirit? (Galatians 5:22-23) The very first Fruit of the Spirit listed is love! It is impossible to love this completely and beautifully without the Spirit- without God working in your life!

Just look at the list above, how many of those things can you actually control, that is a choice? Patience, being kind, jealousy, bragging, arrogance, acting unbecomingly, keeping score, enduring ALL THINGS,etc, these are character traits.

It’s impossible to change your character (alone). I, by nature, am not a very patient person. Those who know me personally may wonder at that because people often say I am a very patient person. Well, it’s not my doing! I still have my impatient moments, and that’s when I can tell that I can’t change myself on my own. (People who are rude and inconsiderate while driving really make me mad and impatient for example.) But through Christ, love through faith, I can be patient.

Love is the greatest Fruit of the Spirit because it produces all the others! (1 Cor. 13:13)

Draw near to God, who is Love; follow Jesus, who saved you in love; and walk by the Spirit, who produces love.

Leave a Reply

