Healthy Breakfast Muffins

I’ve been in a bit of a cooking craze lately. I like cooking, but i’ve been doing fun stuff like Chinese Honey Chicken, Strawberry Crisp and tonight it was Banana Breakfast Muffins.

20130830-002730.jpg

    photo courtesy of The Well Traveled Wife

These muffins are sooooooo good! and the best part is that they are a little extra healthy! No sugar and no flour! Annnnd, it was beyond easy!

    Quick ‘n’ Healthy Banana Muffins

15min prep, 20 min bake, 5 min cool.

Ingredients:
-2 ripe bananas
-2.5 cups plain old fashioned oats
-1 cup plain low fat greek yogurt
– 1/2-3/4 cup honey (I have a sweet tooth so I did closer to 3/4)
-1.5 tsp baking powder
– 1 tsp baking soda
-optional: chopped walnuts, dark chocolate chips

1.) Preheat oven to 400. line muffin tin with paper liners.
2.) put oatmeal into a food processor and blend until mostly smooth. Then add ALL the ingredients (except nuts or chocolate) blend until smooth. (I used my blender. I had to stop and stir with a spatula a few times)

20130830-003109.jpg
3.) pour mix into paper cup. fill a little over half way. sprinkle nuts or chocolate on top.

20130830-003410.jpg
4.) Bake 15-20min or until a toothpick comes out clean.
5.) let cool for 5 min and enjoy!

20130830-003453.jpg
I got this recipe from A Well Traveled Wife. Her picture is much nicer than mine! (but I’m pretty sure mine taste just as good!)

20130830-003611.jpg
I’ve put away most of mine to use for breakfast. I’m thinking an egg and muffin for breakfast tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

