Adventure is Out There

It’s been quite the month. We packed our summer full of friends, camping, family, beach trips and filled what little time left over with packing to move out of our small apartment. I’m sorry I’ve been so bad about blogging and updating BE INSPIRED pages. I’m sure blogging will be slightly spotty over the next month as we move to Texas and get settled but I’ll do my best to keep y’all updated!

I do want to share pictures of the biggest adventure (besides marriage, happy 2 years my love!) I’ve ever been on.

Jeff grew up camping and backpacking around Oregon and he wanted to take me to one of his favorite places before we moved away for a few years. So we packed our bags, drove seven hours to eastern Oregon and backpacked into the Wallowa Mountains.

For those of you unfamiliar with the term “backpacking” it is basically putting all you need to survive into a pack on your back, hiking into the middle of nowhere, and enjoying God’s creation without the distractions of technology or really any other humans. It’s a lot of hard work; definitely the hardest thing mentally and physically I’ve ever done; my pack weighed over 40lbs though Jeff took most all the heavy stuff.

We hiked in along the Hurricane Creek Trail, 12 miles of pretty crazy inclines over two days, and camped in the Lakes Basin near Mirror Lake beneath Eagle Cap. Every misquito bite, sore muscle and blister was worth it to see what most people never will; rambling streams cutting through meadows frosted with wildflowers, mountain peaks lit up like gold by the twilight sun, bears bathing in muddied pool in the face of tall peaks and the bluest skies, stars more numerous and bright than I though possible, and the smile of my husband in his element.

The heavens are telling of the glory of God; and their expanse is declaring the work of His hands.

Psalm 19:1

2 thoughts on “Adventure is Out There

Leave a Reply

