What Does the Future Hold?

It’s fun to dream about what the future holds. Moving to Texas, new home, new job, getting a kitten (hopefully), making new friends. It’s fun to dream about the further future too; moving back to Oregon, having dogs, our own home, having babies, having two cars, vacations, etc.

But how often do my plans really happen?

A lot of things have “worked out” the way I wanted. I dreamed of falling in love and marrying my sweetheart by 20 as a little girl- and that totally happened!

I also dreamed of being a teacher as a little girl, with my students clustered around my chair as I read them stories and filled their heads with knowledge I scribbled on the chalk board. But God had different plans for me and it took me until Junior year of college to submit to him my teacher dream. Instead I graduated with an English major and am still learning to wait on HIS TIMING and not demand my own.

It’s scary to think that my plans might not workout, that things could change entirely, that the life I have thought out to the smallest smidgen of a detail might not be/is probably not what God has in store.

It’s comforting to know that God has bigger plans for my life.

Some of what I have planned out will happen because I trust that He puts certain dreams into my heart (like marrying Jeff.) But how could I know at 5, or 10 or 15 years old that my grand dream of being a high school literature teacher wouldn’t be what God wanted for me. I don’t know yet what my career will be or even if it will be a traditional career. Perhaps I will use this college degree to better bring up my children, home school them even. Maybe the Lord will call me some where in the world that needs my eye for thrift store junk, or a smile at a receptionists desk.

What I know for sure is God is good. God is wise. God is loving. God will use me and put me in a place where He wants me.

Right now I live in a little apartment and work a minimum wage job an hour away from my family and God is using me here to love on those around me.

By the end of the year I’ll be in Texas, 36 driving hours away from my family, probably in a little apartment, hopefully with a full time job while Jeff goes to school and the Lord will still be using me to touch those specific people who will be in my life.

The Lord holds my future.

I will trust the Lord.

Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust Him, and He will Help you.

Pslam 37:5

Leave a Reply

