Honoring the Mama

20130512-103257.jpg

I was raised to respect my mother, even when i didn’t want to.

As a young child i didn’t really know what respect was. I knew it was bad to tell mommy “no” and not to bite or throw tantrums, but looking back, a child’s respect is more out of selfish self-preservation reasons – ain’t nobody happy when momma ain’t happy.

In my teen years, well specifically my rebellious 7th grade year, to respect my mother was to bite my tongue because talking back was a bad idea if i wanted a 25minute ride into town to see my friends.

But then I really started to realize who this woman was and why I should respect her. Now, don’t misunderstand me, I have always loved my momma, but now I not only love her but respect her for those qualities I love.

She’s artistic, and patient, she prays and finds joy in sunshine, rainbows and fern fiddleheads. My mother has washed countless loads of laundry, dirty dishes and sports gear without complaint. She packed me lunch everyday of my school career and often left a sweet note inside. She walks in the rain, herds her goats, loves my Dad and sisters unfailingly and serves The Lord faithfully. Any kid in need of a mentor or mother figure is instantly “adopted,” (i’ve got to have over 50 siblings by now). With no college education she is the wisest woman I know because she faithfully fears The Lord and prays for her family and loved ones.

20130512-103325.jpg
I’ve learned that respect means to honor not just obey.

Mom, today I rise up and call you blessed. (Proverbs 31:28-31) Every medal I won, my college diploma, who I am as a young woman is thanks to you and the God you taught me to love.

I love you to the stars and back again Mommy. Now go grab your bell and make those little sisters of mine serve your every whim like I wish I could be there to do. You da Queen.
20130512-102405.jpg

I also want to talk about my momma Forrest. She is the gentlest, sweetest spirit you will ever meet.
Whether it is caring for her garden or chickens, husband or kids, friend or stranger, her love and honest concern are pure and real. Thank you Sherine for raising up your boy right so that I could marry him. Thank you for showing me more of what it means to love, and thank you for always being real with me, for laughing and thrifting with me. You are such a blessing in my life. Jeff and I also rise up today to call you blessed. We love you so much.

20130512-103450.jpg

20130512-103504.jpg
“Her children rise up, and call her blessed; Her husband also, and he praiseth her, saying: Grace is deceitful, and beauty is vain; But a woman that feareth Jehovah, she shall be praised. Give her of the fruit of her hands; And let her works praise her in the gates.” (Proverbs 31:28, 30, 31 ASV)


Leave a comment