Library

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book!-When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.” -Pride and Prejudice

I love reading, entering different worlds, hearing new thoughts, and learning new things. There is nothing so relaxing and stressful, calming and emotional, numbing and instructive as reading.

One of my weaknesses is bookstores, boxes of old books at garage sales, thrift store books, I just love stories. At 22 I already own more books than I could read in a year, but I’m going to try! I organized my books so that the ones I have not read yet are out on the shelf and the others are stored away (our apartment is too small to display all of our books. I want to build another bookcase.). Since January 1st I’ve read 5 stories and I’m working on The Jungle Books by Rudyard Kipling right now- which is a library book and is setting me back in my reading goals but the library is also a weakness of mine.

2013 Books so far:

  • The Cranford Chronicals
  • Tamar by Francine Rivers
  • Ruth by Francine Rivers
  • The Plague and I by Betty MacDonald
  • The Prince and the Pauper by Mark Twain
  • The Jungle Books by Rudyard Kipling

I dream of a room with tall ceilings, a wall of shelves and a ladder to climb to reach the books on the top shelf. A cozy chair, a fireplace would be nice, a thick warm rug and large windows softened by breezy curtains. A cup of coffee, rain on the window sill, dog at my feet and a book in my lap. Yes, that is my happy place.

 

Leave a Reply

