Some could call it junk

…but I fell in love with these little gems: a rusty bicycle wheel, a bent up old bicycle basket, a long piece of barn wood, and two rusty pieces of machinery.

We spent the day with family in Corvallis today and grandpa let me dig around in his junk treasure pile. I should have taken a picture for you, the old shop in the back is surrounded by lovely piles and stacks of greyed barn wood, rusty machine parts, and aged toys.

Jeff and Grandpa just smiled and laughed at me as I pranced from pile to pile like a pony in a clover patch. They don’t really understand my love for old, bent up and rusty things, but that’s okay. When I got my treasures home and put the wheel up as “art” Jeff, with a surprised look, said, ‘That actually looks good.” WIN!

Β projectsdecor 2013 217

I’m not sure what I’m going to use these metal pieces for yet- but I really like them!projectsdecor 2013 223

I’m using the bike basket to put books in. You can’t really tell from the pictures but the basket is bent and has so much beautiful character.projectsdecor 2013 221

If you were wondering, i found that pretty blue placemat (and his three brothers) at the Goodwill this week for $3.99! Happy treasure hunting!

Leave a Reply

