Tell Yourself the Truth {part 2}

Yesterday I shared the stories of Moses, Gideon and Jeremiah. Their attitudes toward themselves, their own capabilities and their own view of how God could use them are very much like my own. But God did use them, and through them He did great things once they listened and trusted Him instead of their negative self talk.

Your negative self talk hinders God’s ability to use you, hinders His comfort and care, and limits His change and blessings.

We need to believe the Truth and not the lies that we tell ourselves and the lies that our Enemy (the devil) feeds us.

How do you do that? Renew your minds (Eph. 4:23) and the truth will set you free (John 8:32).

“If you continue in my word, then you are true disciples of Mine; and you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.” -Jn. 8:32 emphasis added

How do you renew your mind? By knowing the truth. Read the Word of God; the Bible. Let His truth fill you up.  When the lies bombard you,  cling to God’s truth. He is big enough and powerful enough to provide all you need.

At the Corban Women’s retreat on Saturday Poppy Smith gave us a great acronym to remember 6 ways to grow in God’s truth.

  • Guard your heart
  • Review your self talk
  • Observe your fears
  • Weigh your choices
  • Think the truth
  • Heed the Word

Guard your Heart: Proverbs 4:23

Apply God’s Word as a filter for Truth. If it doesn’t line up with the Word, it’s not true.

For instance, I’ve struggled for years telling myself and believing Satan’s lies that I am not beautiful. But the Word of God says that I am created in the image and likeness of God, that I am loved and valued by God, and that He loved me so He died for me. Forget the face that launched and thousand ships, God sent His one and only Son to the cross for me!

Also, be very wary of the schemes of the enemy. The devil hates God and hates us, God’s creation. The devil lies, distorts the truth and, his sneakiest weapon, discourages. Lift us your shield of Faith and the Sword of the Spirit, gird your self with Truth and be ready. (Ephesians 6:13-17, the armor of God)

Review your Self Talk

What do you tell yourself? Examine it. Hold it up to God’s word. Question it.

Use this phrase: “Is God saying I am…?” Is God saying I am worthless? NO. Is God saying I can’t do this? NO-with God all things are possible (Matt. 19:26).

When Jeremiah doubted his ability to do as God asked and started giving excuses, God basically said STOP IT! “Do not say, “I am a youth…” (Jer. 1:4) Just stop and think about what God says about you. If He asks you to do something He will provide the way to do it.

Observe your Emotions

                 As women it is easy to get carried away by our emotions. Feelings make great servants, but they make terrible masters.

“Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why have you become disturbed within me?  Hope in God, For I shall again praise Him for the help of His presence.” -Ps. 42:6

When I let my emotions take control my negative self talk and my doubt crash over me.

Ask your self: Why am I feeling this? What am I telling my self? What need is going unmet?

Weigh Your Choices

Stop and think. Stop and look around. You have a choice.

A choice between fear and faith.

A choice between believing God and not believing God.

“The things you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, practice these things, and the god of peace will be with you.” -Philp. 4:9

Think the Truth

      Hear the Word. Believe it. Obey.

“Set your mind on the things above, not on the things that are on earth. For you have died and your life is hidden with Christ in God.” -Col. 3:3

“Whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.” Phil. 4:8

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” -Philp. 4:6-7, emphasis added

Heed the Word

        Act in obedience. (John 14:23-24)

Expect God to work.

Will you say Yes to God?

2 thoughts on “Tell Yourself the Truth {part 2}

  1. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE! Thank you for taking the time to write this out. If you’re anything like me, it helps to solidify what you’ve heard, but it’s also a sign of that step of faith you took to write it! You believe it! I believe it too. :0) Now get ready to have your faith tested! Praise God for His supernatural strength and inspiration!

  2. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will often come back at some point. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a nice morning!

Leave a Reply

