Which of all my important nothings shall I tell you first?

One of my favorite birthday presents this year came from my husband, he knows me so well. It is this fabulous little journal from Ruche.

Jane Austen is my favorite author. Some people may laugh at hearing this, thinking that a literature major should have a more prominent favorite, like Hemingway, Hawthorn or Twain. Not only do love that Jane Austen was a female writer daring the social expectations of her time but that she wrote well, with wit and wisdom. Yes, her stories are tales of love and society, but with charming characters she invites us into a world where we can learn and relax. Her stories make me happy, her characters entrance me, and her wisdom instructs me. Before you judge her, read her books, don’t just watch the movies.

Each page of this journal has a quote from one of Austen’s books or personal letters and lines beneath with room for 5 years of short responses so you can see how you change over time. I love it! Here are a few of my favorite Jane Austen’s quotes:

“Which of all my important nothings shall I tell you first?” personal letter. This is just great! Truly, our lives are filled with important nothings, but they are nonetheless important because people are important.

“There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends. I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.” Northanger Abbey

“How quick come the reasons for approving what we like.” -Persuasion. Think about it- if there is something you like, but know in your gut is wrong, you will be really quick to find a good excuse to make it okay. Like having another cookie or not answering the phone when that one relative calls. Instead of making excuses, ask God for strength to do what’s right.

“I wish as well as everybody else, to be perfectly happy; but, like everybody else, it must be in my own way.” -Sense and Sensibility

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book!-When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.” -Pride and Prejudice

Leave a Reply

