Me Time

source

I’m finding it hard to type a the moment because my finger are stiff from cold and I keep pausing to warm them on my coffee mug. I just got back from some of the best “me time” I’ve had in a while. I spent the last hour and a half (ish) run/mostly walking about 6 miles. I chose quiet neighborhood back roads and allowed my self to focus on my body moving, praying, the crisp air, listening for birds and people watching. I made my husband’s work the half way point and stopped for a few minutes to say hi and get a hug before heading home.

Maybe it’s surprising, but I feel incredibly relaxed and happy right now. I’ve spent the last few days feeling very discontent, purposeless and I didn’t know what I needed or wanted to do with myself. Spending time in God’s Word and getting outside to exercise has been the best remedy.

Maybe you are feeling a bit down too. All the holiday celebrations are over and things have lost their sparkle as we return to normal life with out the lights and holiday cheer. Plus it’s cold and rainy- and if you are like me, you just NEED sunshine or you start to wilt- and everything seems a little bleaker, and maybe chubbier too.

The solution is NOT to sit on the couch mourning the end of the holidays by eating endless plates of leftovers and sweets and watching the TV for hours on end.

Believe me, I tried that for a few days. Not fun.

Plus I think I added some non-holidays pounds to the holiday ones. Yuck.

Get outside. Go for a walk, even a short one. One ten minute walk and some time reading a chapter or two out of God’s Word before you shower and you’ll be having a much better day.

I’ve been reading a chapter of 1 Peter everyday this week. Here’s the verse of the day:

“All of you be harmonious, sympathetic, brotherly, kindhearted, and humble in spirit; not returning evil for evil or insult for insult, but giving a blessing instead; for you were called for the very purpose that you might inherit a blessing.” -1Peter 3:8&9 (NASB)

3 thoughts on “Me Time

  1. What a nice post this is. I found you through a blog hop and I’m so glad I took the time to read. It is nice (and necessary) to take some time and remember who you are. I know I feel a lot more content and happy with my simple life when I do things like this that make me happy. Thank you so much for sharing. =) Sarah

    1. I’m so glad you stopped by! It really is good to do those things that make you happy. I find more and more that I need to stop wasting my time doing things halfheartedly and either go at it all out or do something else. Exercising and time with the Lord are two things I enjoy but often do halfheartedly because I am distracted by those things I don’t enjoy! What crazy silliness!

Leave a Reply

